Happy New Year!  People everywhere are committed to new beginnings in 2013.  Many even write them down in the form of resolutions.  Folks are looking to improve, and perhaps “being more organized” is even on the list.  But how do you make those resolutions last?

Resolution statements are often large general statements that are difficult to achieve.  The Institute for Challenging Disorganization offered a teleclass on using the Japanese philosophy of Kaizen as way to achieve lasting results.   According to this philosophy, change for the better is about focusing on continuous improvement.

To achieve success, try re-writing your resolutions as specific achievable changes.

If your resolutions is to DRINK 6-8 GLASSES OF WATER A DAY, you will probably NOT be successful – especially if you aren’t really drinking water to begin with.  Instead, add a glass of water to a routine you already have.  For example, I come down in the morning and check my phone for new texts.  Adding a small glass of water to that routine is an easy habit to slide into.  I resolve to, “DRINK A GLASS OF WATER IN THE MORNING WHEN I CHECK MY PHONE.”   I know that 6oz is too much for me first thing in the morning, so I keep a little plastic cup by my phone.  Easy to throw back 3 to 4 oz without thinking about it.  Achievable change!

It feels great to be successful!  As time goes on, I can find another time of day to add another glass.  While I may never achieve the original grand statement of 6-8 glasses, I don’t have to feel bummed out about it and give up.

Let’s say you are one of the many whose resolution is to “BE MORE ORGANIZED.”  If you are committed, ask yourself how you can re-write your resolution to achieve success.  Once you achieve success, you can build upon that success and continue to improve 🙂

Alternatives to the resolution to “BE MORE ORGANIZED”:

1.  COLLECT INCOMING MAIL IN ONE PLACE.

2.  ESTABLISH A DOCKING STATION FOR EACH MEMBER OF THE FAMILY

3.  USE DRESSER DRAWERS FOR CLOTHES IN ACTIVE ROTATION ONLY

4.  COLLECT AND SORT LOOSE PICTURES

5.  ZONE THE PANTRY

Inspired?  Share your resolutions with us!  Still need help?  Let me help you re-write your resolutions!

 

