Shopping for clothing at Goodwill – when it is not an economic necessity – is not universally appealing.  I get that.  I also get a Liz Claiborne shawl collar cardigan for $4.99!  I recommend inspecting every inch of the garment, shopping on half-off certain colored tag days, and always, always trying pieces on.

     If you are not inclined to poke around Goodwill, here is a colorful tip about Lands End Inlet.  Last winter, I was in search of a robe to replace my ratty maroon old-timer with the broken zipper.  I learned I could get an additional 20% off the already discounted price if I selected an item that had been monogrammed.  Monogrammed?  Always intrigued by unique ways to reduce, reuse, and recycle, I kept an open mind and found my new best friend, “Patricia.”

My good will embassador!

“Patricia,” as she proclaims from below my left shoulder, is my red fleece hoodie robe.  She falls about mid-calf and zips up the front.  My family teased me at first, but have come to accept Patricia as an honorary member of the family.

